No 110 Night music

Sat 17th June 2017  »  10:30 pm
Altes Rathaus

– J. S. Bach: Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden, BWV 230 – G. P. Telemann: Quartett G-Dur, TWV 43: G6 – J. S. Bach: Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit, BWV 106, (Actus tragicus) – G. P. Telemann: Quartett a-Moll, TWV 43: a3 – G. P. Telemann: Du aber, Daniel, gehe hin, TWV 4: 17

Gerlinde Sämann (soprano), Alex Potter (contratenor), David Munderloh (tenor), Wolf-Matthias Friedrich (bass), Concerto Melante

simple div

Ticket prices: € 47,00 | 37,00
reduced: € 42,00 | 32,00

simple div

Two unusual pieces of funeral music from the early eighteenth century figure on the Night Music programme featuring Concerto Melante: Johann Sebastian Bach’s »Actus tragicus«, one of his earliest cantatas, and the funeral music »Du aber, Daniel, gehe hin« by Georg Philipp Telemann. In neither case do we know who was buried to the moving sounds of these funeral pieces. Both works were written within a short time of one another and display certain common traits. For example, both in Bach and Telemann we find elements of the North German cantata style of the seventeenth century.