Organisation & Boards

The Leipzig Bach Archive (German: Bach-Archiv Leipzig · Stiftung bürgerlichen Rechts), a non-profit corporation, was founded in 1998. It receives its basic financial support from the City of Leipzig, the Federal Government of Germany, and the Free State of Saxony. It is directed by an Executive Board, overseen by a Board of Trustees, and advised by a Board of Curators.

Please find the statute here.


The Leipzig Bach Archive publishes annual reports which you can open here (in German):

Foundation Board

  • Burkhard Jung, Mayor of the City of Leipzig (chairman), represented by Dr. Skadi Jennicke
  • Martin Eifler, Federal Government Commissioner for Cultural and Media Affairs
  • Bernd Gallep, Federal Government Commissioner for Cultural and Media Affairs
  • Thomas Früh, Saxon Ministry of Science and the Fine Arts
  • Michael Weickert, City of Leipzig
  • Dr Eleonore Büning, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Executive Board

  • Sir John Eliot Gardiner, President
  • Prof Dr Peter Wollny, director
  • Christina Katrin Ahlmann, CEO (temporary)

Board of Trustees

  • Prof Dr Arend Oetker, Berlin (spokesman)
  • Jon Baumhauer, Darmstadt
  • Prof Gilles Cantagrel, Vaucresson
  • Catherine von Fürstenberg-Dussmann, Berlin
  • Dr Georg Girardet, Leipzig
  • Dr Mary Greer, Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • Dr Heike Hanagarth, Berlin
  • Dr Konrad Hummler, St. Gallen
  • Sir Nicholas Kenyon, London
  • Dr h c Martin Kohlhaussen, Frankfurt/Main
  • Prof Dr Ulrich Konrad, Würzburg
  • Dr h c Elias N. Kulukundis, Greenwich, Connecticut
  • Barbara Lambrecht-Schadeberg, Kreuztal
  • Dr Harald Langenfeld, Leipzig
  • Prof Dr Helmut Loos, Leipzig
  • Judith McCartin Scheide, Princeton, New Jersey
  • Johann Michael Möller, Halle
  • Dr Martina Rebmann, Berlin
  • Dr Stephen Roe, London
  • Prof Ulf Schirmer, Leipzig
  • Prof Dr Dr h c mult Christoph Wolff, Belmont, Massachusetts

simple div

simple div